Join Today
    This user has no status

Thanks

1997 940 upgrade

I've just purchased a 1997 940. 2.3l turbo engine which has a m90 box with oil squirters and the boost cracked up to 12 psi. I'm looking to get it to run a safe 250bhp and I'm finding a lot of contradicting info online about what turbo,injectors and maf to upgrade too? Ive already got a bigger intercooler for it. Can anyone help me out as I'm a bit of a noob lol,cheers

This user has no status

Thanks
    you'll struggle to get to 250 bhp with the stock turbo of course.

There is a lot of contradicting info out there but that's because there's no one way to get to your power goals, although there is a general path that most people follow especially in the UK.
    First of all, sort out all the vacuum hoses, seals, blah blah that will cause issues. Stage 0 basically. Then get a wideband.

A rough list of specs for 230 wheel horsepower from an old turbobricks thread (so around 260 ish at the flywheel):
    TD0416T at 16psi, angled flange housing (so the least restrictive hotside you can get)
    Plus porting of the manifold and outlet flange, wastegate etc just to make it flow as good as it can. It's still a pretty small turbo though.
    3" exhaust from turbo back.
    KL racing intercooler or DO88, anything that flows better than the stock one really. The stock one is kinda restrictive and also likes to blow apart the plastic end tanks at higher boost.
    A/D/VX3 cams (depending on what's available)
    ~ 370cc injectors (blue or white from an 850 / early S70 T5 will do) and you'll need to make sure they're the right impedance. So will require a modification to the resistor pack if you get low impedance injectors.
    Most people have had at least a basic port job on the manifolds and head, even if they don't go with bigger valves.