Join Today

Thread: Which volvo?

Hybrid View

This user has no status

Thanks

Which volvo?

Hi everyone, im new to volvo,s ive been researching as much as possible to get up to spec with which would be the best/strongest motor to lightly tune for weekend fun but daily driving? I was convinced the famous t5 would be tje one until i saw a 3.0 six and thought if it was turbo,d how easy would it be and to what cost compared with tuning a t5???? Hopefully someone on here will have experience of the 2 motors, thanks in advance 👍

Old Fat Git with Grey Beard
    Need to prepare to do
    Santa-ing
    Thanks
    Thanked 102,999 Times in 1,826 Posts
    Tbh either is probably a good choice with a manual gearbox, probably more options for the T5 though

Sent from my SM-T813 using Tapatalk
    Any suggestions, information, complaints or grievances relating to this forum please feel free to contact us, talk to a mod or administrator

Cars : 2009 VW Passat CC 140 CR & 2015 VW Golf R. Uploaded Albums. Past Statuses (Or is that Stati?). Past Posts.

New Identity
    Back in an AWD....Oh the grip!
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,582 Times in 2,051 Posts
    Modifying a T5 would be easier than adding a turbo to a NA 6 cyl engine, for a start the I6 would have a higher compression.

Depends on how much you are willing to spend.
    1996 Olive Green 850 AWD - Follow the Project - Forged rods, 19T, big blue injectors, 960 TB, 3.25" MAF, Ostrich, 608 binary, arduino data display, active exhaust control with Focus RS tips, 320mm front brake conversion.
    1996 Nautic Blue 850 AWD - Failed its MOT, now it's a donor for the green thing.
    2004 Sapphire Black S60 D5 - The new daily hack.

This user has no status

Thanks