Join Today
    Hoping for a miracle
    Thanks

It may be a bit of a thick question but...

I have a question that's bugging me. There are DOZENS of immaculate low mileage V70 2.4 T's available but only 170BHP. WHAT is it that gives these cars the 100 BHP EXTRA to make them into a T5 and FAST? I'm an aircraft engineer so suitably embarrassed to be asking such a dumb question except.......I would like to know please SOMETHING gives them the extra OOOMPH!

is it possible to 'upgrade' one of these 'standard' engines into the T5 by remapping, chipping, new injectors etc? The problem with my 'big bus' is that the bodywork and running gear is pretty much worn out so I am replacing, steel wishbones with alloy, rebushing everything new wheel bearing's etc etc just to get a ticket on it!!!

Would it be cheaper just to lift the T5 donk out of my car and drop it into one of these very nice looking low mileage 'shiny cars' that Im seeing for silly money, as no one wants the non T5's anymore. I fitted an uprated turbo and new alternator 2 years ago and I have slowly worked through VIDA sorting out all the engine faults so she is good to go!

There are two I have my eye on both sub 80k, full service histories, GOLD SPEC, all the toys - but little over a grand???? Pretty much T5 lookalikes, rear spoiler etc! Hmmmm leave the badges off and build a sleeper?

ta folks
    Last edited by Tee5alive; Monday 23rd April 2018 at 21:50.
    http://www.vpcuk.org/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=11614&dateline=143983  7674

2004 - V70 D5 -'Black Bess' - The new addition
    2002 - C70 T5 'Ragetty Anne' - awaiting rebuild long term storage

Still more fettling needed,
    will it never end?
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,587 Times in 3,404 Posts
    2.4 T5 has a K24 turbo instead of the 13T of the LPT, also has green injectors, instead of oranges. LPT has a slightly higher compression ratio than the T5, and obviously the mapping is totally different.