Join Today
    Banned
    Power of a Sports Car, Turning
    Circle of a Bus.

Thanks

Thumbs up How To Change ABS Module (V70 Phase 2)

I thought I would post a thread on how to change the ABS Module on the Phase 2 V70 as I've taken mine off for a repair and once you have the module off, it's basically a reverse process to put everything back on. It's a good chance for me to put something back in to the forum as I don't aways get the chance. I'm also going to mention some of the things that crop up when doing this job as well as a useful tip for one stage of the job in particular, as I think it may be useful.

Now first of all for the record, I'm not a mechanic or anything close to being a mechanic yet I was able to complete this job quite easily once I'd got around one slight stumble in the middle, a stumble with a simple solution as I will mention. The actual unit is located on the nearside of the car under the engine compartment fuse box.

Tools needed:

• Torx 30 Screw Driver
    • 2 x Flat Headed Screw Drivers
    • 4mm E5 Torx Driver
    • 10mm Socket Spanner
    • Short and Long Extention Bars for your Socket Set

For those of you like me who need the extra background information, the ABS/STC 'unit' is a combination of 2 components, the main ABS/STC Control Module (the electronic side of things), and the ABS/STC Pump assembly. In this guide, I will be explaining how to remove the computer module from the pump which does not cause brake failure, leaks or anything else, it just means that your ABS and Traction Control system will not work until you replace it with a working unit. Considering that if you are changing this then your ABS/STC system is probably faulty anyway, it's not actually going to matter that much. The photo below shows the 2 components seperated from each other....