Join Today
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A Miserable Day

This user has no status

Thanks

A Miserable Day

After 5 years and 60k miles of brilliant, rewarding, reliable, lovable, daily, fast and surprisingly excellent ownership, my glossy black N reg 850R estate has blown a head gasket. It's the first time it's let me down in all this time, and I'm genuinely heart-broken. Poor thing, it looks so sad outside, not being used. I've literally just last week retaxed, MOT'd and put new tyres on him too. It's funny how attached you can become to things, isn't it? I'd honestly rather the wife blew up.

Anyway- homicidal spousal thoughts aside- I don't have the money laying around to get it fixed, and after pulling the head off myself to attempt the job (I'm an engineer by trade) I now realize that I'm out of my depth.

Anything anyone could suggest would be gratefully received. I'm based near Norwich, by the way.

Thanks in advance, please help

Nervy.
    Last edited by Dangerous Dave; Friday 14th September 2012 at 22:39. Reason: as requested

T5 powered and retro
    Thanks
    Gutted for you mate, hopefully someone on here will resurrect him.

Banned
    Power of a Sports Car, Turning
    Circle of a Bus.

Thanks
    Can you not just buy a second hand head gasket or block from a scrappy and get it fixed at a garage? I know money is always the issue but a second hand unit will cost a lot less than a new or recon unit. Just a thought and best of luck with it!

Regards

James

Getting through tyres...
    Thanks
    On the Rover forum i heard this all the time (luckily the clutch went before i had to worry), couple of blokes specialized on the K Series Engine. You can do it Nervy, if you've got the head off isnt it just a case of cleaning it all up making sure the head is flush, if not get a shop to skim it, replacement gaskets and check the water system for failed components and then lumping the lot back together.

Good luck in whatever you do mate,

Will,