Join Today
    This user has no status

Thanks

Issues with my new C70 T5.

Hi Guys,

I've been driving round in my new car for about a week now and a couple of issues have raised their head. As I'm new to the 70 series, I could do with a bit of advice.

The car is a 1999 C70 T5 GT, in saffron...

1. The engine temperature gauge is very slow to rise and doesn't seem to get high enough (half way up) until after I stop and let the engine idle for a while. Also the cabin doesn't really warm up, definately not as quick as I'd like in this weather!

2. The car is slow to lock using the fob. Unlocking is just a single press, but locking takes ages and multiple presses or holding the button on the fob. It's not just one remote either, it's the same for two fobs. Any ideas?

3. More worrying is a fault code that has been reported. The engin management light came on the day after I got the car, using my code reader the code was P1332. After looking around a couple of forums, I reset the codes to see if it reoccurred. It has done, twice. I had hoped that I had left behind this light after my last car!

I will be doing a 'stage 0' as soon as I get a chance.

Any advice gratefully received!

Alex.

This user has no status
    Thanks
    1. Thermostat. Only around £10 to replace and can do yourself with handtools in 10 minutes.

2. Unsure, Is it fob batteries? Does it lock 'quickly' with the key? Maybe try lubing all the locks and door catches, could be sticky mechanism(s)

3. That code leads to CVVT solenoid, has your timing belt been replacement recently or at all? (Assuming your car is ME7?)

This user has no status

Thanks
    My first thought was thermostat too, so I have one ready to fit. I broke my T40 spline bit undoing the second bolt! I'll pick up a new one tomorrow.

I've not tried locking the car with the key, I'll give it a go in the morning.