Join Today
    This user has no status
    Thanks

s40 t4 suspension

hiya everyone, im new to vpc and could do with a bit of advice. i have a s40 t4 with lowered suspension on standard shocks with 18 inch wheels and the ride is awful, front shocks are past it. im on a really tight budget so cant afford coilovers or a whole kit but really need it sorted so i can enjoy driving it. not sure what kind front shocks to go for. thanks for any help. martin

This user has no status
    Thanks
    What's your budget for sorting it out? Lots of options for the 40s.
    Alastair
    Current: 2009 Cayenne GTS and a 2016 Prius IV... yes.
    Previous Volvos: 2009 V50 D5 R-Design, 2005 V70R, 2001 V70 T5, 2001 S40 T4, 2x 1999 S40 T4, 2003 V40 T4, 1999 V70 T5, 1996 854 T5 & 855 T5, 1995 855 T5, and a 480...
    Previous other stuff: Saxo Turbo, 2004 996 C4S, 2008 Z4M, 2001 Yaris T-Sport, 2002 S2000 Mugen, and a 1999 Evo VI

Demented Tonka Toy
    This user has no status
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,758 Times in 1,256 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bones717lee View Post
    hiya everyone, im new to vpc and could do with a bit of advice. i have a s40 t4 with lowered suspension on standard shocks with 18 inch wheels and the ride is awful, front shocks are past it. im on a really tight budget so cant afford coilovers or a whole kit but really need it sorted so i can enjoy driving it. not sure what kind front shocks to go for. thanks for any help. martin
    Not the same S40 but I've got Bilstein B8's on mine, and they are light years ahead of stock (esp after 50,000 miles)

Changing to 17" rims will make your ride a lot better too - When mine was on 18's the ride was painful, now it's fine, you wouldn't believe what a difference it'll make.