Join Today
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    This user has no status
    Thanks

Air cleaner-Intake

Dear all,

I have to admit this is an area that I have little knowledge of before I start. The question is this. If I want to improve the airflow over the standard T5 aircleaner box which is the best way to go. I am dubious of these cone filter jobs stuck in the engine bay as surely they are pulling warm air into the engine. Am I correct in understanding that the cooler/denser the air the better for performance? Any advice or suggestions appreciated.

My car is a S60 T5 2001 with MTE remap.

Regards

Chris

a 19t just isn't laggy enough
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,021 Times in 4,072 Posts
    you are correct sir, the colder the air the better. As for improving a P2 intake tbh i've never really looked under the bonnet (D5 so why bother lol) but i wouldn't be put of so easily by cone filters. Yes on paper they will suck in warm air but once on the move its soon replaced by the cold moving air, i've lost count of the different systems i've had on the 850 T-5 & open cone has proved to be the fastest on the 1/4mile

This user has no status
    Thanks
    The standard design is often the best.. Sealed panel filter drawing from behind the grill. Perfect.

This user has no status
    Thanks
    At this point I agree. Although I see most people squeezing more performance seem to bin the standard set up?

This user has no status
    Thanks
    Maybe for sound?

Im relatively new to T5s, but Im just going by experience of my previous cars too. Im not one for changing the induction that Volvo designed. It might be flawed, it might not, I dont know.

Theres plenty of theory that can be thrown either or, just take everything with a pinch of salt. There plenty of B/S marketing too!

Beer Baron
    Nice to have some power again.
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,466 Times in 1,996 Posts