Join Today

Thread: Lambda Light

This user has no status

Thanks

Lambda Light

Hey guys, I'm new to the whole Volvo thing, and I picked up a 1996 850 T5 auto wagon last week and it has the lambda light on.

From what I've read, this is to do with the emissions, am I correct? And would indicate either a shot lambda sensor or MAF sensor I am guessing as they're the only parts associated with the emissions systems.

With regards to the lambda sensors, as they're going to be cheaper to replace than the MAF sensor, I have only really found the front ones online? Are there 2 lambda sensors on the 850's? A front (pre-cat) and rear (post-cat) sensor? If so, which one is the one more common to fail?

Cheers

This user has no status

Thanks
    i have a 1998 v70r and had the same problem turned out to be nowt but a fault on the system somewhere , got it reset and away i went .... then it came back , so i took the battery lead off for a short while and hey presto it went again ... if the car drives fine then dont worry , if it doesnt then go see the bank manager and prey ..... good luck fella ...
    ]

This user has no status

Thanks
    Thing drives like a charm, does about 20mpg on average, and that's about a 65 / 35 split of town / highway driving which I was under the impression was normal for one of these, especially the T5.

I can fix most things on cars either myself or at a mate's garage so doesn't cost me too much at all (I have friends who run scrap yards so I get bargains there too) but it helped with bartering the guy down on the price lol

Cheers man

This user has no status
    Thanks
    My lambdas been on for ages...but then I'm running a remap and a MBC (coughs) but the car runs great and I've done about 10K miles with that set up. The lambda came on when an intercooler pipe blew off the turbo so not reallya problem. Best thing is to get the codes read to be on the safe side bud

in dilema near ilford
    Thanks