Join Today

Thread: 18T question.

This user has no status

Thanks

18T question.

Hi
    I want to put an 18T with a 3" exhaust on my 850. I'm new to turbos so need a bit of advice. The modified 18T that IPD sell looks interesting but they want $250 for shipping!! with VAT and maybe import duty it gets a bit too expensive.
    The IPD turbo has a 70mm outlet. My questions are; what size is the outlet on a standard 18T? Would it be a good idea to get a turbo with a 70mm outlet to go with a 3" system? Would it make enough difference to be worth the hassel and expense of getting a special made up?
    I've not yet asked any UK turbo people for quotes.
    Thanks in advance
    Roger

OH DEAR
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,711 Times in 2,752 Posts
    Well if your wanting to run a 18t your would most likley want the rods upgrading larger injectors etc so really if you have that money to spend you minds well go for a garrett or alike.
    70mm is 2.75 inches i dont know the exact size of a standard 18t but i would have thought that would be about right.
    The best thing to do is get a angled outlet which will help gasses flow better.
    Ide look into gattett gt28r or gt30r

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to t5 pete For This Useful Post:

flyingbrick (Saturday 21st November 2009),rogert5 (Saturday 21st November 2009)

This user has no status
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,783 Times in 1,506 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rogert5 View Post
    Hi
    I want to put an 18T with a 3" exhaust on my 850. I'm new to turbos so need a bit of advice. The modified 18T that IPD sell looks interesting but they want $250 for shipping!! with VAT and maybe import duty it gets a bit too expensive.
    The IPD turbo has a 70mm outlet. My questions are; what size is the outlet on a standard 18T? Would it be a good idea to get a turbo with a 70mm outlet to go with a 3" system? Would it make enough difference to be worth the hassel and expense of getting a special made up?