Join Today
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22
  1. #1
    Member
    This user has no status
    JOHN 850's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Harrogate, N.Yorks
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 10 Times in 3 Posts

    S70 Remote Fob Programming

    Have searched the threads & can't not find a definate answer on this.

    Getting an S70 with no fobs - can I buy s/h ones & reprogram myself or is it a dealer only job with a new fob ?

    Cheers guys,

    John.

  2. #2
    Suspended
    This user has no status

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Dover,kent
    Posts
    510
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 37 Times in 35 Posts
    I have another fob & couldnt programme it.

    My local dealer advised that old fobs couldnt be re-progammed
    & new fobs would be needed.

    They quoted 220 incl Vat for a spare key & fob.

  3. #3
    Member
    This user has no status

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fletchv70RAWD View Post
    I got a fob off eBay and had it programmed by Volvo no probs for my V70. There is however two part numbers for identicle looking fobs (9184786 and 9184784 IIRC) and you will need to know which one your car uses first as I beleive the internal electronics are not interchangeable.
    Hi

    What was the cost for the re-programming ? I have just bought a t5 with only one fob and would like to get a spare done.

    Thanks
    150 mph with a wardrobe in the back or as the wife says "Why?"

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    This user has no status

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    369
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 60 Times in 48 Posts
    I needed a new fob programming (bought an identical fob off ebay- there are 2 if not 3 different numbered ones) and my local dealer did it in about 10mins but charged 17 for the privilage! (other dealers my have different rates)

    It has to be done via VADIS- you cannot do it yourself.

    Tim..

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    This user has no status
    Jolly Roger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi

    I got a new fob from the dealer for about 90 IIRC

    If it has to be a diesel, make it a D5!

  6. #6
    Member
    This user has no status
    JOHN 850's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Harrogate, N.Yorks
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 10 Times in 3 Posts
    Sorry for not replying back sooner - main stealer wants 65+vat for fob, 25 for software & 35 for doing it i.e.labour !

    Parts chap said 9184784 or 9184786 fobs would be o.k. so I'm on the hunt in fleabay for some !

    Anyone know somewhere in Yorks that can program them cheaper i.e. an independant with vardis ?

    Cheers for your help guy's,

    John.

  7. #7
    Trader
    This user has no status
    Rufe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Abertawe, Cymru (Swansea, Wales)
    Posts
    2,014
    Thanks
    227
    Thanked 291 Times in 213 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JOHN 850 View Post
    Sorry for not replying back sooner - main stealer wants 65+vat for fob, 25 for software & 35 for doing it i.e.labour !

    Parts chap said 9184784 or 9184786 fobs would be o.k. so I'm on the hunt in fleabay for some !

    Anyone know somewhere in Yorks that can program them cheaper i.e. an independant with vardis ?

    Cheers for your help guy's,

    John.
    if you get them on ebay you HAVE to have the original packaging they came in, for the bar code/serial number. without that, its a paperweight as it wont be able to be programmed

    Simon
    If VOLVO is Your Drug, I am Your Dealer!

    FRF FEEDBACK (click here)



    Click Here for Info on FRF Motors...


    <FOR QUOTES PLEASE CALL 01792 790066 / 01792 784272>

    (Mon to Fri 9am to 5pm)

    PLEASE QUOTE DISCOUNT CODE: "C3" FOR OUR BEST DISCOUNTED PRICES!


  8. #8
    Junior Member
    This user has no status

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Used remotes will work if your car is fitted with an VGLA module, as in S40, V40, C70, S70 early P1 V70s, but require some sort of diagnostic equipment to unlock the security on the module and then initialise the remote to the car by pressing the lock/unlock button.

    P2 cars remotes are programmed into the UEM and have an 8 digit pin (on early models) and an 8 & 16 digit pin on later models, again require diagnostic equipment to unlock the module and add codes.

    Vadis is now obsolete and will not program keys and remotes, Vida will perform the task but there is not many independent repairers who have the tool and software capability.

    I find that bypassing the system is the easiest way, but the information is classified by Volvo and would result in prosecution and certain death.

  9. #9
    Member
    This user has no status
    JOHN 850's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Harrogate, N.Yorks
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 10 Times in 3 Posts
    Just a quick update on this - managed to get a new fob & programmed by Chapmans @ Malton for 60 all in. Bought a new fob off fleabay as well, but they couldn't program it in unfortunately !
    The only downside now that I have the remote facility is back is that the receiver on the car is obviously weak as you need to be nearly next to the glass for it to work - I think receivers going u/s is a common'ish problem isn't it ?

    Cheers for the replies so far guy's

    John.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    This user has no status

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    685
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rufe View Post
    if you get them on ebay you HAVE to have the original packaging they came in, for the bar code/serial number. without that, its a paperweight as it wont be able to be programmed

    Simon
    Sorry Simon,

    That is main dealer Bullsh*t we have an Autologic from Diagnos at hlmtuning.co.uk and we do not need any packaging or bar code etc to programme a new or s/h alarm remote to an S70. So if you need a new remote for your Volvo S70 (V70, C70 etc) give us a shout we can programme new and s/h units at a fraction of the dealer costs!!!!!!!!

    Regards,
    Hamish.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to hamish For This Useful Post:

    JOHN 850 (Sunday 11th January 2009)

  12. #11
    Senior Member
    This user has no status

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    369
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 60 Times in 48 Posts
    The range on both my 70 series cars is rubbish- like someone said you have to be practically at the glass for it to work. It works 100% of the time, and new / old batterys in the fob make no difference.

    Is this how they are, or is there a fix for the receiver?? Where is the receiver ?

    tim.

  13. #12
    Member
    This user has no status
    JOHN 850's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Harrogate, N.Yorks
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 10 Times in 3 Posts
    I think the receiver is a little box attached to the back of the instrument cluster ?

    Where abouts are you located Hamish - knowing my luck 200+ miles away !

    Cheers

    John.

  14. #13
    Senior Member
    This user has no status
    paullus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Staffordshire
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Hi
    I went through all this last year. Copy and paste the links below to read my threads on the subject.

    http://www.vpcuk.org/forums/showthre...ht=Alarm+Siren
    http://www.vpcuk.org/forums/showthre...ht=Alarm+Siren
    1997 Volvo S70 2.5T CD. RICA 235 remap. Volvo front strut brace. Late C70 clear headlights, indicators and grille. HID bulb upgrade. Columba 16" wheels.


    Never be afraid to try something new.
    Remember this:
    Amateurs..............built the Ark!
    Professionals........built the Titanic!

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to paullus For This Useful Post:

    JOHN 850 (Sunday 11th January 2009)

  16. #14
    Member
    This user has no status
    JOHN 850's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Harrogate, N.Yorks
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 10 Times in 3 Posts
    I'm surprised that the fobs didn't need programming to the new unit though ? The code/signal must be somewhere deeper in the security system then, as I thought the s/h sensor & fobs on ebay were matched so when fitted in your own car they then worked ?

    The other interesting point to come out of this thread is that s/h fobs CAN be programmed to your car using aftermarket software !

    Cheers again guys,


    John.
    Current : 1999 C70 T5 Auto on LPG, 2004 S.Y.Rexton 270 XDI

  17. #15
    Senior Member
    This user has no status

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    369
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 60 Times in 48 Posts
    The receiver is surely just that- receives radio waves, converts the signal to a digital one, and passes them onto the ECU, which then sends a lock/unlock signal to the CDL ecu (behind drivers kick panel)

    So i am thinking the tuning of the antenna inside the unit, or the actual connection of the antenna fails after a time???

    Tim..

  18. #16
    Senior Member
    This user has no status

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,820
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked 313 Times in 273 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hamish View Post
    Sorry Simon,

    That is main dealer Bullsh*t we have an Autologic from Diagnos at hlmtuning.co.uk and we do not need any packaging or bar code etc to programme a new or s/h alarm remote to an S70. So if you need a new remote for your Volvo S70 (V70, C70 etc) give us a shout we can programme new and s/h units at a fraction of the dealer costs!!!!!!!!

    Regards,
    Hamish.
    It remains to be seen if that is the case.

  19. #17
    Senior Member
    This user has no status
    paullus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Staffordshire
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JOHN 850 View Post
    I'm surprised that the fobs didn't need programming to the new unit though ? The code/signal must be somewhere deeper in the security system then, as I thought the s/h sensor & fobs on ebay were matched so when fitted in your own car they then worked ?

    The other interesting point to come out of this thread is that s/h fobs CAN be programmed to your car using aftermarket software !

    Cheers again guys,


    John.
    I was more than pleased when my fobs operated the new receiver without the need for any reprogramming. I can only guess that the new receiver has a blank memory and is simply programmed by the first fob pointed at it.
    1997 Volvo S70 2.5T CD. RICA 235 remap. Volvo front strut brace. Late C70 clear headlights, indicators and grille. HID bulb upgrade. Columba 16" wheels.


    Never be afraid to try something new.
    Remember this:
    Amateurs..............built the Ark!
    Professionals........built the Titanic!

  20. #18
    Trader
    This user has no status
    Rufe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Abertawe, Cymru (Swansea, Wales)
    Posts
    2,014
    Thanks
    227
    Thanked 291 Times in 213 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hamish View Post
    Sorry Simon,

    That is main dealer Bullsh*t we have an Autologic from Diagnos at hlmtuning.co.uk and we do not need any packaging or bar code etc to programme a new or s/h alarm remote to an S70. So if you need a new remote for your Volvo S70 (V70, C70 etc) give us a shout we can programme new and s/h units at a fraction of the dealer costs!!!!!!!!

    Regards,
    Hamish.
    sorry hamish but there is no need to accuse me of lying. i am only saying what i have been told countless times and i dont have any reason to doubt that. i know 100% this fact is true for the later models athough you may be right with the older models but i can only say what i have been told. if you can do it good luck to you but dont accuse me of lying!
    If VOLVO is Your Drug, I am Your Dealer!

    FRF FEEDBACK (click here)



    Click Here for Info on FRF Motors...


    <FOR QUOTES PLEASE CALL 01792 790066 / 01792 784272>

    (Mon to Fri 9am to 5pm)

    PLEASE QUOTE DISCOUNT CODE: "C3" FOR OUR BEST DISCOUNTED PRICES!


  21. #19
    Senior Member
    Gizza job!
    Yosser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    The 1980's
    Posts
    1,068
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 417 Times in 315 Posts
    What price can you supply the new one's for, Rufe? - for a '97 V70 T5 CD

    I did buy one off ebay once and my dealer couldn't match it to the car.

  22. #20
    Trader
    This user has no status
    Rufe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Abertawe, Cymru (Swansea, Wales)
    Posts
    2,014
    Thanks
    227
    Thanked 291 Times in 213 Posts
    Hi,

    REMOTE CONTROL:
    Pn: 9184784
    Retail Price: 71.31 inc vat,
    Our Price: 60.61 inc vat, plus postage
    Postage: 1.14 Royal Mail 2nd Class Recorded Delivery
    Availability: Will be dispatched the next working day if ordered by 4:30pm
    NOTE: Will require programming to the car, charge to do this will vary depending on where you go so you will need to get a local price for this.



    Simon
    If VOLVO is Your Drug, I am Your Dealer!

    FRF FEEDBACK (click here)



    Click Here for Info on FRF Motors...


    <FOR QUOTES PLEASE CALL 01792 790066 / 01792 784272>

    (Mon to Fri 9am to 5pm)

    PLEASE QUOTE DISCOUNT CODE: "C3" FOR OUR BEST DISCOUNTED PRICES!



 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.
     
ipv6 ready