Join Today
    This user has no status

Thanks

Advice wanted on V70 engine mapping, LPG, and tweaking.

Please bear with me on this as I am total noob about cars.

I've got a '98 V70 XC 2.5 Turbo Petrol Automatic, and due to the ridiculous gallons-to-the-mile type fuel economy, got it converted to LPG (although due to LPG being ****e, totally inefficient and very sluggish, I now tend to alternate depending on the situation).

I found the LPG very bad at first on the poor efficiency / poor performance double whammy so I took it back for some tweaks. The LPG guy showed me the engine map set-up, a two axis graph with RPMs along the top and gas pedal / throttle usage (or something like that) down the side. He'd set it up badly in the first place with all of the numbers being around 170, the effect being it was using too much gas at low revs and cruising speed and too little gas at high revs and during acceleration. He tweaked it so most numbers were at 140, except high gas pedal / throttle - mid revs at 180-ish, and high gas pedal / throttle - high revs at 210. Thus meaning I now have better performance when I put my foot down.

I'm due to take it back for another tweak and want to know more about getting it set-up for the optimum efficiency / performance balance.

Basically I now have a car with 4 performance options:

LPG + Economy Mode = fairly slow, reasonably efficient (due to LPG prices outweighing lower MPG)
    LPG + Sport Mode = mildly powerful, mildly efficient (useful for overtaking runs)
    Petrol + Economy Mode = mildly powerful, not so efficient (generally smoother)
    Petrol + Sport Mode = fairly powerful, not at all efficient (but good fun)