PDA

View Full Version : Track day advice....

JO5EPH
Saturday 8th April 2006, 20:20
Well I'm wanting to do an open-pit track day around the late July/August time.

I've been looking here (http://www.trackdays.co.uk/calendar/car.htm) and there's a couple there, but none that really 'suit' me.

I'd really like to do Croft, but I can only find the 23rd June and this is too soon really.
There's also Oulton Park on the 1st July, which is quite expensive and a bit too soon, then there's the 26th November, which I dont really want to wait that long for!

So am I being too fussy??

I've never done a track day before, I did 20mind round silverstone last year and thats it!

So ANY general advice/tips for a track day would be much appreciated!

Cheers,

Joe :)

EDIT: I've also been looking here (http://www.motorsportvision.co.uk/oulton-park/trackdays/trackdays.asp?circuit=op&type=Car&Submit=Search) but they only have a calender up to early July at the moment, but the one I want (open-pit) seems to be coming in at around £200, does that sound about right?

Murphy
Saturday 8th April 2006, 22:28
Apart from my own track day that I think you should join me at ;). I would recommend Bruntingthorpe for novice track day goers. The idea of a track day IMO is to achieve whatever it is you want to achieve. I can guarantee you will find someone that is a better driver than you and can drive faster than you at any track day - so as long as your mind is focused on safe enjoyment you are well away. The thing with bruntingthorpe is you need to really try to hit something as there is lots and lots of run off, and a lot of corners are made up of coned areas etc etc. I know a few people on here have had some experience so maybe they can comment further. The only down side to brunters IMO, is it isn't as interesting as other UK tracks.