PDA

View Full Version : RICA question.

Goof
Tuesday 15th March 2005, 23:20
VT state that they recommend Opti - but can the 304 upgrade still be run on 95 petrol when necessary? (i.e. low fuel, no Shell station for miles)
What are the penalties/risks?

Obligatory smilie:-
:worthless

glock19
Tuesday 15th March 2005, 23:49
Engine knocking or pinging at high boost levels ? But then the engine management would retard itself, right ?

Wobbly Dave
Wednesday 16th March 2005, 01:30
True, I believe that the ECU will adjust. Knocking is a risk with lower RON fuels at high pressure, which is why the full on RICA is mapped for high RON fuel i.e. optimax. There are alternative 97 RON fuels at Esso and BP

MattV70
Wednesday 16th March 2005, 09:45
Hello all

I'm new to the T5 scene as I only picked my car up last weekend. Just a quick question, what is knocking? Mine doesn't feel like its running at it's best, but i took it due to having been run on std unleaded and not optimax.

:sick:

volvotuning
Wednesday 16th March 2005, 09:54
Knocking or pinking is the term used for the noise produced when the fuel mixture is in detonation, ie the fuel explodes violently rather like a bomb in the cylinder, instead of burning smoothly like it should. There is a whole load of technical info about this on the net, about the flame fronts etc.

Adam.

Bracer
Wednesday 16th March 2005, 09:58
Hello all

I'm new to the T5 scene as I only picked my car up last weekend. Just a quick question, what is knocking? Mine doesn't feel like its running at it's best, but i took it due to having been run on std unleaded and not optimax.

Knocking / Detonation / Pre-ignition / Pinking

Detonation