PDA

View Full Version : Fuel comsumption question

blackcurrantGLT
Saturday 26th February 2005, 09:33
Hi Peeps,
I'm a newbie to this site - so please forgive me if I sound like a nob!
I just bought a 1996 854 2.5 20v GLT auto . All is well with my new purchase ( £1200 - with full service history with Speeds at Nottingham !!)
I do have a slight suspiction that she's using a tad to much fuel . The computer is telling me that my cumlative consumption is 17.8 mpg. Is this normal ? All the reviews I've read say the car should do around 25mpg - or is this a fairytale ? I know that the plugs ,rotor arm and dizzzy cap need to be changed along with the air filter. Can i do anything else to get better mpg . Any Idea's or advice would be Fab !!

Tell me what you think of my new motor !
115,000 miles , leather , all electrics work , very clean body work- all for only £1200 - I still can't believe it !!

Best regards .......Andy

Justin
Saturday 26th February 2005, 10:08
:welcome:

Very nice indeed :)

Mrsmopp
Saturday 26th February 2005, 10:37
Lovely looking car!!! Looks in really good nic!

x

jp850R
Saturday 26th February 2005, 14:47
If i remember rightly the first thing i was told when i joined here was do a =http://www.volvot5.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=274&highlight=stage+tune]stage 0 tune up ,courtesy of bracer.

Other than that if u r using a relly cheap fuel it wont help much if u search optimax on this site have a read thru, im no expert but i hope this helps :)

lance
Saturday 26th February 2005, 16:39
If you are based around Notts can recomend David Pengelly , Henry Road ,Lenton .
He will be able to plug your car into the diagnostics and fault find , fix any problems and being a volvo independent his costs are very very reasnoble compared to speeds!

blackcurrantGLT
Saturday 26th February 2005, 17:21
Thanx Lance ,
I'm up in Sunderland . Anyone up here know how to fettle a Volvo ?

Wobbly Dave
Sunday 27th February 2005, 05:55
:welcome: