PDA

View Full Version : reliability of tuned cars...

weasel
Tuesday 20th December 2005, 17:03
i'm thinking about having a rica 280 mod, but as i plan to keep the car, i'm concerned about possible reliability issues. i have spoken to a couple of people who've done 30k or so without problems, but i don't think they necessarily drive under quite the same conditions that i do. i am an average driver for insurance purposes 10k per year with 30 - 35mph average. so would folk post whether they've suffered mechanical problems following having tuning done - i'm aware that poor mainteneace will lead to problems and i'm not talking about service items, just stuff you might not expect to have to replace.

btw my only experience of tuned vehicles was with yamaha 350lc's - which for some might explain my caution.

spesh
Tuesday 20th December 2005, 17:22
I drive my car like I stole it every day, it aint broke yet, 1 set of tyres in a month and half, now thats good goin!!!

jross
Tuesday 20th December 2005, 17:54
Reliability with mods totally depends on the mods and your driving style. The more agressive your mods, the more apt you are to end up breaking something important. Likewise with driving style. With just a RICA chip, I'd imagine you'll be alright - I don't know that I've ever heard of someone killing a car with an off-the-shelf chip. Just stay on top of maintenance, and you should be alright. It's when you start going for serious gobs of power that you start breaking things more regularly :frown:

siamblue
Tuesday 20th December 2005, 18:03
btw my only experience of tuned vehicles was with yamaha 350lc's - which for some might explain my caution.

Weasel just replace your serviced items will upgraded parts, and you cannot go wrong,
As for the Elsies i had a nice 350 ypvs tuned by Stephens 38 carbs and Lomas pipes boy did that thing move.
reliability was always a problem with that bike lol.
Gary

Vikingxl
Tuesday 20th December 2005, 19:10