PDA

View Full Version : re-program ecu

firestorm
Saturday 17th December 2005, 22:36
hi, i've been talking to someone who owns a volvo independant workshop, he was telling me he can do something do the car, by plugging in a computer, which gives the car more power, anyone heard of this?

S60D5
Saturday 17th December 2005, 22:38
hi, i've been talking to someone who owns a volvo independant workshop, he was telling me he can do something do the car, by plugging in a computer, which gives the car more power, anyone heard of this?

LOL.

Yes.

firestorm
Saturday 17th December 2005, 22:44
i take it it's been around for a while, i'm new to volvo tuning, done the regular servicing etc on them, but i now really fancy a t5 estate, dont know why, but there's something about them

is it worth having done, i know you dont get something for nothing, more power will mean less MPG, shorter engine life, etc, etc, etc

S60D5
Saturday 17th December 2005, 22:51
i take it it's been around for a while, i'm new to volvo tuning, done the regular servicing etc on them, but i now really fancy a t5 estate, dont know why, but there's something about them

is it worth having done, i know you dont get something for nothing, more power will mean less MPG, shorter engine life, etc, etc, etc

Hi mate,

Most people on this forum have had something done to their ECU.

The main people are RICA (http://www.volvotuninguk.com), TME (http://www.kalmar-union.com) and BSR (supplied by Volvo tuning).

Rica supposedly gives you up to 10% BETTER fuel economy....

volvotuning
Saturday 17th December 2005, 22:58

That is how you extract power from all modern cars. All the engine parameters are stored on a sort of spread sheet in the engine computer. By changing the values in this spread sheet, you can change the performance of the engine. You do this by hooking up the car to a computer to basically reload a different spreadsheet into the engine computer.

Adam.

pzorb
Saturday 17th December 2005, 23:49