PDA

View Full Version : 2000 V40-T4 Won't / No Start after Head Gasket Replacement (sounds like no comp.)

tonymite
Friday 20th November 2015, 01:22
Hi,

2000 V40-T4 Won't / No Start after Head Gasket Replacement,

Starter motor is engaged, fuel is delivered, coils all measure approx 0.70 ohms, there is spark (at least to cylinders no's# 1 & 2 - have not checked no's# 3 & 4 i.e the coils for actual spark at cylinders 3 & 4).

My compression gauge which I've never used before showed no signs of compression but when tested on an air compressor gradually ramped up to 6 bar without a problem - (indicating at least to me that the gauge is O.K)

Upon start-up, when cranking ... it sounds like there's little or almost no compression ... just an electric sound (of the electric drive components such as the starter motor driving the belts).

Timing belt when put on by mechanic was supervised by 2 more mechanically minded individuals - and checked and re-checked against old markings and seems all good.

The Head was shaved, but NOT re-conditioned OR crack-tested ... even so ... it will not totally crumble, it will still start but run rough if valves weren't seated right or head was cracked...

When cranking... it makes a (Start -ON (belt-drive electric sound) ... ... ... "P" (belt-drive electric sound)... ... .. "P" (belt-drive electric sound)... ... .. "P" (belt-drive electric sound)... ... ... etc.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated...

M-R-P
Friday 20th November 2015, 01:23
Sounds like the cam timing is out.

smithy
Friday 20th November 2015, 07:51
Is it vvt pully type .did u lock the vvt pully when doing timing .also check cam sensor too and timing .

tonymite
Sunday 22nd November 2015, 13:30
Do crank/cams turn by hand?
Last edited by pierremcalpine; Yesterday at 01:41 AM.
Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message
#3 Report Post
Unread Today, 12:12 AM
tonymite

yes they did - and still do...