PDA

View Full Version : Performance ES vs GT

K605ewa
Sunday 18th October 2015, 14:17
Hi all Newbie here

We have 3 480's in the family, namely ES, GT and Turbo. My wife's ES goes like " ......" from the word go and has 220k on the clock and the red dipstick. I have the GT and the green dipstick and air con with 150k on the clock. Supposedly, the engines are exactly the same apart from the oil cooling she has under the pistons. My car, GT, seems to be a gear behind hers ES. Once I get to 3000, then it picks up and goes. In a race she can't pull away but I have to push harder. Any ideas? There is a difference in the engines for sure but where? Her fifth gear is very good even from low rpm, mine lags a bit, I have to change down if I want to keep up. I have had the timing checked, ok but the plugs are very light coloured, almost white. I get extremely good fuel consumption. I wonder if I am running lean for some reason! I have used copious Redex and the GT is quickening, as I suspected the injectors may have been clogged up a bit. Have you heard anything like this from anyone else.
Secondly, my Turbo's gauge only get just into the yellow by a quarter to a third, is this normal and what is the running pressure for a normal car supposed to be? Is there anything I should check apart from the boost system leaking to make sure the Turbo is producing it's best performance.

Alastair K605ewa

jamesy12345
Sunday 18th October 2015, 17:07
Your GT will be a 2 litre, her ES a 1.7? Same gear ratios AFAIK but about 100 kg difference between them and almost the same power output, that might explain it if so

Nice paris blue turbo there...here's mine:

It would be a good idea to get injectors cleaned on the GT - there's a member on here with username MRP who has cleaned a couple of sets for me

From memory, stock boost for your Turbo is about 2/3's into the yellow....long time ago since mine was stock...