PDA

View Full Version : Diesel purge :) taken from another site

S40kieran
Friday 8th May 2015, 21:44
DISCLAIMER: I AM NOT A MECHANIC, I AM AN IDIOT ON AN INTERNET FORUM. IF DO THIS THEN USE COMMON SENSE. IF YOU BREAK SOMETHING THEN TOUGH, THAT'S HOW IT GOES. NOT MY FAULT. IT WORKED FOR ME, IT MIGHT NOT WORK FOR YOU.

I asked a few days ago, in another thread, whether anyone knew the correct hoses to remove to perform a diesel purge. I never got any replies so I figured I'd work it out and put a guide up for anyone else who wanted to know.

You will need:
Liqui-Moly Diesel Purge - Other purges are available
1/4 inch fuel tubing - I had this lying around from my old bike, it fits the connectors nicely
A clear pop bottle
Scissors
An in-line fuel filter - 7 or 8mm connection turned out to be nice and snug
A hose connector - Again, 7 to 8mm worked fine
Gloves (Because reasons) - loldiesel etc

You don't really need 2 500ml cans, I was going to run 1 litre through it but didn't bother. I'll put the other can through our 164,000 mile 206 2.0 HDi instead.

First of all remove your engine cover. You know how to do this I'm sure.

Okay, so there are two hoses you need to disconnect. One by the fuel rail to the left of the oil dipstick...

...and one by the metal silvery thing on the left (Low pressue fuel pump? I don't really know)

You'll lose a bit of diesel but don't worry too much about it. Mop it up if you can be bothered, I couldn't. Next you want to connect the two original lines with your connector. I don't know whether this actually makes a difference or not but I did so as a precaution.

Next it's time to cut your hose into two fairly equal lengths, put one length on one connector and one on the other.