PDA

View Full Version : Strut top mounts.

druid
Saturday 4th April 2015, 17:13
After weeks of waiting the mounts are done, bye bye bump steer and hello driving in a straight line. New top bearing as well and new drop links too! Steering is much smother/lighter.

S40kieran
Saturday 4th April 2015, 19:25
Nice one Druid :) no more clanging either lol

druid
Saturday 4th April 2015, 19:56
Should be more confident on the road now (car not me), will be glad to go for a spin.

T4PAT
Saturday 4th April 2015, 21:43
Did you change them yourself druid?

druid
Sunday 5th April 2015, 01:16
Nah, i pulled a bit of a favor and had the lot done in 2Hrs! £40 at the local kerbside motors Nice learning experience for the young lad with his dad looking over and getting involved - dads a fitter by trade - so it all went well.
I like to think i could, BUT perhaps not. I will stick with easy stuff like painting the wheels and the calipers.

S40kieran
Sunday 5th April 2015, 09:15
Druid they are fairly easy to do how did he get the top suspension nut off that's the most awkward bit because of the metal guard which I took a grinder too.

T4PAT
Sunday 5th April 2015, 09:33
Druid they are fairly easy to do how did he get the top suspension nut off that's the most awkward bit because of the metal guard which I took a grinder too.

Now that's just rough Kieran! lol How much did your new mounts cost? :)

druid
Sunday 5th April 2015, 11:03
They used a snap on impact gun thing, took the strut out and then sun the bolt out.
i paid £120 for the lot, so 160 fitted!

S40kieran
Sunday 5th April 2015, 13:25
£100 bucks pat ;) £50 each

T4PAT
Sunday 5th April 2015, 23:30
£100 bucks pat ;) £50 each

For the complete top mount? :)

S40kieran
Sunday 5th April 2015, 23:31