PDA

View Full Version : Awd fault

rotax740
Tuesday 28th October 2014, 22:39
hi guys and gals I'm new to this, well here goes.
I've recently acquired a 53 plate V70R, what a great car !!! Sadly tho the 4 wheel drive system has stopped working :-/

If I park on loose ground then set off with the hand brake on and the front wheels spin only.

There is no noise from the drive line and it drives fine front wheel drive only, it was working fine 3 weeks ago but now nothing :-/

It may be something silly but there is limited information available re AWD faults. So I hope someone on here can help.

MoleT-5R
Tuesday 28th October 2014, 22:46
have you tried launching the car with the h/brake off and videoing that, may be it will work as Volvo intended without the handbrake restricting it......worth a try

jamesy12345
Tuesday 28th October 2014, 22:47
why handbrake on? try it without

edit too slooow

MoleT-5R
Tuesday 28th October 2014, 22:53
makes no sense to me why the handbrake is being used to test the awd, all that is likely to happen is to help destory your awd or the clutch....

rotax740
Tuesday 28th October 2014, 22:55
I tried with the handbrake on just to see, it wasn't fully on kind of just on. I was expecting the rear wheels to over come the braking force. ....... Rightly or wrongly :-(

I'll re try tomorrow without the brake on :-)

rotax740
Tuesday 28th October 2014, 22:59
I forgot to say my car is an auto and I didn't launch the car wildly just enough to see if the car wold bite.

MoleT-5R
Tuesday 28th October 2014, 23:01
I tried with the handbrake on just to see, it wasn't fully on kind of just on. I was expecting the rear wheels to over come the braking force. ....... Rightly or wrongly :-(

I'll re try tomorrow without the brake on :-)

to be fair drive it onto a nice grassy patch and floor it you should have 4 nice tracks and all is good

jamesy12345
Tuesday 28th October 2014, 23:04
I seem to remember something about handbrakes & AWD...