PDA

View Full Version : A few questions...

Richard_Senior
Monday 15th April 2013, 14:29
Hello,

I've been driving a Saab 9000 Aero for the last 6 years, it finally died so I bought a 2002 s60 T5 (because the GM Saab's are nasty).
It's an auto, so it's not as brutal as the Saab was, but it's still quite rapid.
I'm quite taken with it so far... and the missus loves it.. so I have a feeling that a manual "R" might be my next car :)

Firstly the car came with a private plate (S60 AA), anyone got any idea what that's worth?
My mate rekons audi (S6) owners might go for it.. they tend to be minted don't they? :)

Generally the car is sound, though it's done 190k+ miles.
However the reverse parking sensors don't work (it doesn't bother me too much because I know where the mirrors are)
Should they just start beeping when I put the car in reverse? How do I find out exactly what the problem is there?
If it's sensors it can stay broken :)

And the sat nav screen won't pop up. I've changed the batteries.. and stood on the 'enter button' etc.
Again it doesn't bother me that much, I have UK Maps... But it does impress when stuff pops out of your dash doesn't it?
Does anyone have any idea how to start debugging this?

The flippy central consoly cupholdery thing is broken.. does anyone know if I can get a cheap replacement?
It looks like one of the prongs has snapped on it, so when I put my elbow on it, it just gives in.

Finally.. is there anything I should look at right now that might save me pain? Something that S60's are notorious for?
So the Saab 9000 famously had a dodgy DI pack etc.

danny-R
Monday 15th April 2013, 14:35
Hi and welcome :worthless
1. What you have there is a ford Volvo the same as new Saabs are gm ;)
2. Google private plate valuations and get a few quotes
3. Never had the parking sensors or satnav so can't help there sorry.
4. My centre console thing's broke and I just keep looking for a breaking car in my area eBays your friend.