PDA

View Full Version : Accelerator cable and barometric sensor on the R.

foammanmark
Sunday 31st March 2013, 22:47
I have a really stiff accelerator pedal and need to change the cable, and the lamda light is on which has previously been diagnosed as the barometric sensor.

Now I'm no mechanic but have done the bonnet release cable, which makes me think I should attempt the accelerator cable, and the barometric sensor is on the drivers side bonnet catch I think? If I change the sensor, I presume the code will still need to be read and cleared?

Am I a girl(not being sexist-honest) if I don't do the above work myself?

AndysR
Sunday 31st March 2013, 22:50
I always thought the barometric sensor was part of the air flow sensor?

Accelerator cable should be similar to that of your bonnet catch unless it's auto in which case you'll have to consider your kick down switch...

foammanmark
Sunday 31st March 2013, 22:54
I always thought the barometric sensor was part of the air flow sensor?

Accelerator cable should be similar to that of your bonnet catch unless it's auto in which case you'll have to consider your kick down switch...

Just a manual, and the cable is £38 on the bay so I'll do that job. Can't remember why I think the b/metric sensor is on the bonnet catch and I could have that completely wrong.

deathrider311271
Sunday 31st March 2013, 22:58
if i remember correctly Mark its behind the passenger side headlamp

Dangerous Dave
Sunday 31st March 2013, 23:13
The throttle cable is easy enough, hard part is getting the cable clip out of the bulkhead, but you can just smash it out with a screwdriver and hammer. Then just clip the new one in and attach each end. Should be simple enough.

On my 850 and V70 the barometric sensor is behind the drivers headlight, just behind the bonnet lock and has a pink connector (though may be different on yours)

foammanmark
Sunday 31st March 2013, 23:13
if i remember correctly Mark its behind the passenger side headlamp