PDA

View Full Version : need help, 1999 v70 t5

razzle
Tuesday 26th March 2013, 19:11
him im new to volvos, but iv just got a 1999 v70 t5 manual ex police, i love the car but the other day driving it home all the warning lights come on and the speedo and rev counter stop working, but turns the cd player off then the battery goes flat. to start with i thought it was the alternator so iv changed that but after running for 5mis it does the same thing so im a bit lost. iv done a bit of searching and a lot of people say its the clocks then some people say the abs.
i would be very grateful of some help :D

many thanks
russell

deathrider311271
Tuesday 26th March 2013, 19:18
99 V70 will be ME7 you need the codes reading with Vida Dice. I can tell you it wont be the clocks on a P1 V70, its the P2's that suffer with that particular problem. I had the same problem with my clocks and it was the ABS ECU, i just changed the ECU and pump together for a compatible part, however a failing abs sensor can do the same.

razzle
Tuesday 26th March 2013, 19:23
ok mate thanks very much, ill change the abs ecu and the abs sensor! thanks again :)

deathrider311271
Tuesday 26th March 2013, 19:34
ok mate thanks very much, ill change the abs ecu and the abs sensor! thanks again :)
You need to get the codes read with Volvo software, unless you have extremely deep pockets, i dont see the point in replacing something it might not be

razzle
Tuesday 26th March 2013, 19:39
i can get the parts cheap as my mate works for a motor parts and theres a few in my local scrappy and kno them well, iv just been looking in to the code reader and will most probs get one by the end of the week

razzle
Thursday 11th April 2013, 17:07