PDA

View Full Version : Head Rebuild - There'll probably be questions... ;-)

Alex.
Monday 8th October 2012, 08:51
Hi Guys,

After losing all compression on cylinder 1 and weighing all the pros and cons, I have decided to take the head off myself. I'll then get an engineering firm to rebuild it, fixing the burnt valve (hopefully!) and then put it all back together myself.

I do all my own servicing (except the last cambelt) and have rebuild motorbikes, so I'm not a novice with the spanners, but this job was initially daunting! It took me a while to convince myself that I could do it, but now I am confident.

That said, I'm sure there will be lots of questions for the knowledgeable peeps on here, so let's get cracking!

Yesterday, I spent a good 4 hours removing the intake manifold and turbo/exhaust manifold. I got as far as removing the intake and not quite removing the turbo. Following the Haynes book, I removed the heat shields and fluid unions from up top, then went underneath. The steps were to remove the bracket on a pair of pipes, remove a pipe that is held on by two cap head bolts, remove the single lower not on the front pipe to turbo and the two lower nuts on the turbo to manifold. Then remove the bolt holding the bracket to the turbo. This I could not find.
Back up top, removed the rest of the nuts on the turbo to front pipe and pulled it clear. Then removed the rest of the bolts on the turbo to manifold, the turbo should now pull free, except it does not.

I have looked all over the place up top and underneath, but I cannot find that bracket bolt!
By this point I was ready to stop, brain not functioning at full speed, maybe due to dehydration! So rather than make mistakes and muck something up, I stopped and had tea.

So to the first question, where is that bolt?!?

Alex.

960kg
Monday 8th October 2012, 09:43