PDA

View Full Version : 98 v70t5 throttle switch?

danthet5man
Tuesday 16th August 2005, 08:44
Hi newbie here. Ive had the engine management light on for a cpl of days so took it in for diagnosis. I was told that the problem is the throttle switch. The car doesnt like to start and has poor idle speed (ie searches). Has any one changed this switch? Is it an easy task? will it improve start up , performance etc? any advice greatly appreciated. cheers Dan

Vikingxl
Tuesday 16th August 2005, 09:35
I hope you dont mean the Etm as this is a lot of money.

danthet5man
Tuesday 16th August 2005, 15:11
no the etm was introduced on the 2000 model. any one else know ? can the switch be overhauled? Took car out on lunch break and the performance is getting worse !!!!!! helpppp !!!!!!

Rufe
Tuesday 16th August 2005, 16:20
sounds like you mean 14a in this pic of the throttle housing then mate:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v17/rufe_v6/v70t5thrtswitch.jpg

14a) part number is 1336385 and its £57 plus vat retail. its a fairly easy job to do mate :)

Vikingxl
Tuesday 16th August 2005, 16:31
no the etm was introduced on the 2000 model. any one else know ? can the switch be overhauled? Took car out on lunch break and the performance is getting worse !!!!!! helpppp !!!!!!
Mines a 98 with etm the ME7 was introduced late 98

Rufe
Tuesday 16th August 2005, 16:36
well it was the 1999 model years that had the potentiometer at the pedal, instead of the cable. in other words your car will have a letter Y as the tenth digit in the chassis number, indictating its a 1999 model. volvo have a habit of calling cars a year early, so some cars registered in 1998 will be 1999 model years as far as volvo are concerned. gets confusing for some people lol

Tosh
Tuesday 16th August 2005, 16:39
I have a spare of these, came off when I replaced the entire throttle body housing (mech prob). The electrical part should be 100% okay.