PDA

View Full Version : Where can I get a Turbo for my '99 V70R?

brendan
Wednesday 5th October 2011, 16:53
Hello. I'm new to this so, patience. I have a V70 R AWD from 1999. And the turbo has gone very smokey on me. Usually after coasting. It's got an oil leak from the turbo too. My garage has advised me I need a new turbo, but as it's an R it's apparently difficult to get hold of. (Somert about size and compression?)
Has anybody got any suggestions or advice please.

Cheers

claymore
Wednesday 5th October 2011, 16:59
Sounds more like a blocked PCV and a knackered "O" ring on the turbo oil return pipe, I wouldn't condem the turbo just yet.

S70T5Chris
Wednesday 5th October 2011, 17:01
You will have a 19t turbo. They do from time to time come up for sale second hand, but are fairly rare.

The only other option is from the dealer. They are around the £650 mark give or take with the forum discount via Rufe @ FRF. Once ordered, you can normally have them within a few days, so there shouldn't be any issues getting hold of a new one.

smithy
Wednesday 5th October 2011, 17:20
if your turbo is nackered get it rebuilt and modded at the same time turbo technics do a 20g wheel conversion for a good price and thats rebuilt too.but check everything else first like pcv and turbo return pipe

dalhousie2008
Wednesday 5th October 2011, 18:35
Volvolised has an 18t for sale at a good price, not sure how close a match that is?

brendan
Wednesday 5th October 2011, 19:17
So far so good. Thank you everyone. What does PCV stand for? The turbo does appear to be working so if I can repair it / get it repaired i will. I'm in Manchester. Does anyone know of a turbo mechanic in the North West of England that they can recommend?

my car has been in my family from new and only has 104k on the clock, so I think it's worth persevering with, though it has a few smaller issues that I'll be back to get tips for.

T5frankie
Wednesday 5th October 2011, 19:27