PDA

View Full Version : Cruise Control

Louie
Wednesday 14th September 2011, 23:02
Hello all, I have bought an S60 2001 T5 recently to replace my old 850 T5 :( The cruise control doesnt work. I am new to cruise control and therefore have no idea how it works or how to test components etc. any help would be great. Thank you in advance. :icon_soap

Just to add, If i click cruise on steering wheel before starting car it lights up on the dashboard.

Lee.

M-R-P
Wednesday 14th September 2011, 23:10
Ok, let's see if you're using it right. Drive at 30mph or over, press cruise then press +. This is how mine works (yours is earlier but should work the same) once active, stay away from the brake and clutch. Pressing the throttle will accelerate until you let of the throttle and then the car will coast back down to the preset speed.
Cruise won't work under 30 in 5th 0r 20 in 4th and if the car struggles to get up a hill, it will automatically cancel cruise.
Hope this helps :)

Louie
Wednesday 14th September 2011, 23:13
Ok, let's see if you're using it right. Drive at 30mph or over, press cruise then press +. This is how mine works (yours is earlier but should work the same) once active, stay away from the brake and clutch. Pressing the throttle will accelerate until you let of the throttle and then the car will coast back down to the preset speed.
Cruise won't work under 30 in 5th 0r 20 in 4th and if the car struggles to get up a hill, it will automatically cancel cruise.
Hope this helps :)

Thanks for that, I was worried that's what you'd say. The cruise doesn't light up at all when driving. Therefore It must be broken :( any common faults to look out for.

Lee

M-R-P
Wednesday 14th September 2011, 23:23
Hmmm, my cruise konks-out now and again and the code reader says "clutch position sensor circuit fault" I clear the code and it's fine for a few months. Have you had your codes read? it may be worth it. :)

t5_monkey
Wednesday 14th September 2011, 23:25