PDA

View Full Version : Big Brakes Surley Must be a Cheaper upgrade

merc85
Tuesday 19th July 2011, 23:33
To revive a old thread where member's were talking about twin pot audi vw caliper's... did anyone find a suitible caliper carrier to accomidate said caliper's?

v70 Ph2 Carrier's are different think they messured 110mm where are 850's are 106mm between bolt holes. (from memory).

I work in the Motorfactor trade and cannot find a spec/aplication which show's the distance between bolt holes/mounting holes to hub of said Caliper's. Dis'c are not a problem i can match 330mm disc's with the correct offset and stud pattern.

Really cant afford £800 to £1,900 for brakes currently runing 302's but really these are not up to scratch imho.

855 t5 Manual 1994
Any imput gratefully received

Volvostorm
Tuesday 19th July 2011, 23:41
What pads do you have in the 302's? Might be worth changing them first.

Ferrodo ds2500 is a good pad.

AndysR
Tuesday 19th July 2011, 23:51
If you haven't already got them fit a set if Ferrodo pads and im sure you'll notice a difference in braking performance. I've got them on mine and there was a noticeable difference in braking performance.

merc85
Tuesday 19th July 2011, 23:54
Trw, Lucas Pads in the front, Fade like hell when they get hot, it's not that i drive hard, But if i need to stop i wanna get the feel throught the car that she will pull me up.

It simply doesn't want to. my friend has a Seat leon Cupra (58 reg), and just moving it off the drive it nearly put's me through the windscreen if i tap the brake pedol.

850 brakes are definatley a weak point imho.

martybelfastt5
Tuesday 19th July 2011, 23:56
im going to start hitting srap yards soon as my brakes are a must at the minute dont want to do the 302s and someone cracking this,,,lol they have to be out there as its been done! why cant we track these down,, do carriers not have part numbers like calipers?

AndysR
Wednesday 20th July 2011, 00:02