PDA

View Full Version : Lost Power on S40 T4

Haizum74
Friday 15th April 2011, 14:06
Ok, a technical question. I have lost power in the car when putting the power pedal to the floor so could someone direct me in possible causes and also if I need to check pipes are all ok etc, where I need to look. Not got my Haynes manual yet and as a novice I dont want to be fiddling under the bonnet and make things worse.

She doesnt have that grunt that she had last week.

Cheers!

stevie69
Friday 15th April 2011, 14:12
i had something like that on my t5.just cleaned and gapped the plugs and fingers crossed its fixed it..posted the code reader first class this morning so you might get it tommorow..

Haizum74
Friday 15th April 2011, 14:47
i had something like that on my t5.just cleaned and gapped the plugs and fingers crossed its fixed it..posted the code reader first class this morning so you might get it tommorow..

Aha, excellent thanks for that. Its pointing towards the plugs the more I ask questions, so I will see what the code(s) come back with and sort the plugs.

LiamT4
Friday 15th April 2011, 16:31
How much less power? Is it a constant lack of power or intermittent?

Haizum74
Friday 15th April 2011, 18:16
How much less power? Is it a constant lack of power or intermittent?

Well its still jumping like before but now there isnt that kick back into the seat as it had previously, thats gone (I even tried the VPCUK sticker and it hasnt gone faster lol) I still keeping in mind what you mentioned but read a few times that some people had this and turned out something had come loose. Just wondered where to start doing my own self diagnosis. Got vpcuk code reader coming tomorrow all been well so that should give some indication. Just hope its not a load of codes, lawks.

Cheers

LiamT4
Friday 15th April 2011, 19:52