PDA

View Full Version : Overboost?

rebmulp
Sunday 6th March 2011, 19:41
Is overboost protection like a rapid fluttering sensation sorta juddering? Only in my last T5 it sorta cut then came back, but in the present t5 its like a juddering. It has a rica 304 remap. I have tried fitting an MBC today it is turned down to minimum and it is better but still seems to overboost (if thats what it is doing). I am not an expert in these matters by any stretch. Any help would be appreciated. I was thinking that the wastegate is staying shut too much could it be an actuator fault?? HELP!

T5frankie
Sunday 6th March 2011, 19:44
Having more boost will show up crappy spark plugs by getting spark blow out this causes the same problems as you describe

rebmulp
Sunday 6th March 2011, 19:49
Plugs it is then. For a start.Thanks for that. It has been baffling me because the afm boost gauge is not showing high boost.The one on yhe clocks shows about 3/4

p fandango
Sunday 6th March 2011, 20:12
thats not the overboost then, the end of white on the factory gauge is around 15psi which is when the boost cut comes in. Factory boost cut is very aggressive & you'd certainly know when you hit it, brown trouser moment lol

T5frankie
Sunday 6th March 2011, 20:18
you wont have overboost protection on a re-mapped ecu anyway

p fandango
Sunday 6th March 2011, 20:20
you wont have overboost protection on a re-mapped ecu anyway
some raise it, some remove it altogether

rebmulp
Sunday 6th March 2011, 22:10
OK I will post results when plugs are done.Ignorance is bliss Thanks guys.

rebmulp
Wednesday 9th March 2011, 18:13
nice 1

Nice 1 seriously many thanks!!Just been round the village plugs have done it boosting to 0.8 bar in 2nd. Is it worth turning it up do ya think?

T5frankie
Wednesday 9th March 2011, 18:58
nice 1

i run mine at 1.5 bar mate just dont floor it till after 4000rpm,