PDA

View Full Version : Which dump valve do I need???

850t5
Friday 9th July 2010, 12:31
Captain newbie here with another basic question for you all :smirk: I've been looking into getting a samco kit with dump valve connection but I have'nt got a clue which dump valve I need. I see a lot about atmospheric/recirc and me7 models etc but I have no idea which is which :dunce: How do I tell which DV is the right one for my car? She's a 850 t5 '96.

p fandango
Friday 9th July 2010, 12:36
you need a twin piston atmospheric dump valve. You've already got a recirc valve on the side of the turbo, this needs removing & blanking off to the most out the aftermarket atmospheric valve

850t5
Friday 9th July 2010, 12:48
Thanks bud. Whats the difference between the forge and baileys if any?

brett craig
Friday 9th July 2010, 12:49
as soon as mr fandango answers his pm i may have a twin piston dumpvalve for sale. need confirmation first that runin my boost pressure and stalling the turbo wont harm it.

p fandango
Friday 9th July 2010, 12:52
as soon as mr fandango answers his pm i may have a twin piston dumpvalve for sale. need confirmation first that runin my boost pressure and stalling the turbo wont harm it.
PM? Sorry mate can you resend it, its not in my inbox (might of had a clean out & deleted without reading, you can't get the staff lol) Sorry

but with our cars running the boost high enough to risk the turbo isn't possible

p fandango
Friday 9th July 2010, 12:54
Thanks bud. Whats the difference between the forge and baileys if any?
not sure which one it is, but one of them allows you to change the internal spring so you can set it up better for the boost level your running

850t5
Friday 9th July 2010, 12:57
Cheers Brett. I've already been having a chat with shaun850 as he's selling one with pipe + hks MBC but if it goes t@ts up I'll send you a pm mate.

I read about the lighter spring for lower boost turbo's etc. What kinda spring would best suit my standard t5?