PDA

View Full Version : Air cleaner-Intake

chris21340
Tuesday 18th May 2010, 19:09
Dear all,

I have to admit this is an area that I have little knowledge of before I start. The question is this. If I want to improve the airflow over the standard T5 aircleaner box which is the best way to go. I am dubious of these cone filter jobs stuck in the engine bay as surely they are pulling warm air into the engine. Am I correct in understanding that the cooler/denser the air the better for performance? Any advice or suggestions appreciated.

My car is a S60 T5 2001 with MTE remap.

Regards

Chris

p fandango
Tuesday 18th May 2010, 19:41
you are correct sir, the colder the air the better. As for improving a P2 intake tbh i've never really looked under the bonnet (D5 so why bother lol) but i wouldn't be put of so easily by cone filters. Yes on paper they will suck in warm air but once on the move its soon replaced by the cold moving air, i've lost count of the different systems i've had on the 850 T-5 & open cone has proved to be the fastest on the 1/4mile

MC_Bob
Tuesday 18th May 2010, 20:56
The standard design is often the best.. Sealed panel filter drawing from behind the grill. Perfect.

chris21340
Tuesday 18th May 2010, 21:30
At this point I agree. Although I see most people squeezing more performance seem to bin the standard set up?

MC_Bob
Tuesday 18th May 2010, 21:37
Maybe for sound?

Im relatively new to T5s, but Im just going by experience of my previous cars too. Im not one for changing the induction that Volvo designed. It might be flawed, it might not, I dont know.

Theres plenty of theory that can be thrown either or, just take everything with a pinch of salt. There plenty of B/S marketing too!

LiamT4
Tuesday 18th May 2010, 21:55