PDA

View Full Version : Strange noise coming from cone filter

Mck1
Thursday 11th March 2010, 20:26
I've had a cone air filter fitted for a few months now, which sound great especially when you hit 4100 rpm it roars! It’s currently fitted to the top of the air box because of the MAF sensor. Having been playing around with it lately i.e. securing with tie pulls, it’s started making a strange noise when I hit 4100rpm. Difficult to explain on text, it's making a sort of air flapping sound?!

Is this normal?

madhouse
Thursday 11th March 2010, 22:46
Doesn't sound like a 'normal' sound. It's not the wadding thats loose in the cone? If you're not a T5 I understand the 20v motors have a dual stage inlet manifold that opens at higher revs. Could it be the internals not holding open??

I'm no expert just putting thoughts on paper...errr keyboard!

Mark

Mck1
Friday 12th March 2010, 08:38
Thanks, I'll have a another look at all the connections & filter. Your right about the 20v motor having a dual stage inlet manifold that opens at 4100rpm. Mines been fitted with a VVIS mod (9bhp increase under 80% load) that eliminates this by opening the inlet at 2100rpm.

Wobbly Dave
Friday 12th March 2010, 11:41
Have you checked your wastegate actuator? Is it set right, namely 3 to 4 psi?

smithy
Friday 12th March 2010, 12:56
Thanks, I'll have a another look at all the connections & filter. Your right about the 20v motor having a dual stage inlet manifold that opens at 4100rpm. Mines been fitted with a VVIS mod (9bhp increase under 80% load) that eliminates this by opening the inlet at 2100rpm.