PDA

View Full Version : Boost gauge fitting

Chriscurzon
Monday 28th September 2009, 13:27
Hey Guys

Just a little help if you can IV just got a boost gauge and I know how to fit them just struggling to find which wires to tap into I need a constant 12v feed and a ignition 12v feed.

Does any 1 know where would be the best place to get this from?

Cheers
Chris

thebadger
Monday 28th September 2009, 13:53
Behind the stereo TBH.

It will be a pain to wire up, but it's a solid bet & safer than any other spot.

Either that or the 12V socket...

Chriscurzon
Monday 28th September 2009, 14:17
Been a total noob and that I haven’t really messed around with the car much yet how do you get the stereo out? Lol

I was thinking to attach to wires from back of fuse box but just didn’t know which off the list would be constant or ignition.

thebadger
Monday 28th September 2009, 14:29
Ok, giz a clue... what model & year are we in?

If it's an s60/v70/s80 it's easy/tricky.

Remove the pen holder by the gear lever,

Remove the two screws (torx 25) that secure the HAVAC unit (heating ventelation air con)

*********** MEGA WARNING*******************************
DO NOT UNPLUG THE HAVAC UNIT! THIS IS VERY BAD IN LOTS OF WAYS!

Move the havac to the side as possible by the cables (noting the above!)

Should be some screws holding the bottom brace on the stereo. (torx 25)

Cables are the usual suspects on volvos. There are more details in the ice section about the cables.

HTH

Chriscurzon
Monday 28th September 2009, 15:06
Sorry that would of help.

S60 T5 2001.

Trying to fit a Auto gauge electronic boost gauge with a volt meter.

That’s cool cheers for that ill have a go at that look in ice section see what I can tap into.

Thanks for help :)

Wombatbomb
Monday 28th September 2009, 15:12