PDA

View Full Version : Knackered Engine ?

cameron
Monday 7th September 2009, 21:35
I am not liking the sounds coming from the old bus today, it started as a tappety noise but now im not sure,

http://s371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/cameron793/?action=view&current=V070909_1910.flv

850 t5 vs 600cc
Monday 7th September 2009, 21:47
I'm no expert on engines but this does not sound very good. I'll ask my brother what he thinks it might be and i'll get back to you.

cameron
Monday 7th September 2009, 21:49
Cheers dave :sorry:

Tomcat
Monday 7th September 2009, 21:52
Sounds too light a tapping to be anything from the bottom end, maybe a stuck lifter??..

cameron
Monday 7th September 2009, 21:54
Its deffo near the top TC, its got louder as the day has went on :grumpy:

Now im scared to drive or even start it, an engine bill is the last thing i need at the minute :(

Jimmie
Monday 7th September 2009, 22:11
Sounds a bit like my one use to ,happened all off a sudden and ended costing a fortune to repair and it wasn't just the tappets.

orse
Monday 7th September 2009, 22:11
Just to offer an opinion.Faulty lifter is definately a stronger possible,but worn out cam/s may also be.Have had a few vauxhall 8valve engines sound similar with the cam gone.Can you check or have the oil pressure checked to rule out faulty oil pump?

cameron
Monday 7th September 2009, 22:14
Is the oil pressure easy to check ?

Mrs_PA
Monday 7th September 2009, 22:17
Sounds a dry sound - could it be a blocked oilway?

hd9584
Monday 7th September 2009, 22:18
Does sound like something cam related, is there oil in the top of the engine?

cameron
Monday 7th September 2009, 22:18
Right so come on gents and Lady ;) how do i check for a blocked oil line and where are they?

orse
Monday 7th September 2009, 22:19