PDA

View Full Version : knowledge

Libra
Tuesday 1st September 2009, 18:11
When people/owners are talking about their 850 Volvo, they seem to either say they have an 854 or an 855. Now I guess this relates to a saloon and a estate respectively, but why are the cars not badged as this?

Sorry if this has been discussed in the past, also, but I am still new to the Volvo world.

Also is there a thread that documents the differences between a T5-R and a R

AlanG
Tuesday 1st September 2009, 18:18
When people/owners are talking about their 850 Volvo, they seem to either say they have an 854 or an 855. Now I guess this relates to a saloon and a estate respectively, but why are the cars not badged as this?

Sorry if this has been discussed in the past, also, but I am still new to the Volvo world.

Also is there a thread that documents the differences between a T5-R and a R

The 850 was never designated as anything else. Just a code on here so everyone knows if a saloon or estate. The differences between the T5R and R are few. The R has an LSD and a permanent 250bhp as opposed to the T5R's 240bhp,30 sec overboost. Also the R has the 16T blower. There are some interior differences also,ie the seats are alcantara in the centre as opposed to the bolsters. Oh and the titan wheels in place of volans.....HTH.

Cubes
Tuesday 1st September 2009, 18:22
The third digit was made into a generic '0' in the early 80's when the 240's and 340' etc were around. Not sure why. Before that, you did get 145, 244, 245, 265, 345, etc.

Haven't really answered your question at all have I?!

AlanG
Tuesday 1st September 2009, 18:23
The third digit was made into a generic '0' in the early 80's when the 240's and 340' etc were around. Not sure why. Before that, you did get 145, 244, 245, 265, 345, etc.

Haven't really answered your question at all have I?!

Tesco.........every little helps...

Libra
Tuesday 1st September 2009, 18:27