PDA

View Full Version : Cool Induction Air - from Turbo (performance mod?)

Nico20V
Thursday 27th August 2009, 17:45
Of prospective interest for anyone with turbo silicone hose upgrade and/or induction filter I guess…

Ok so I'm a newbie and a novice but is my reasoning sound on this one? In an earlier thread I queried if for the sake of fitting the silicone hoses, whether or not insulating the 3 rigid sections between the turbo and inlet manifold would be worthwhile. As so many have fitted aftermarket induction kits with isolated compartments to aid in keeping their air cool (me too on past motor) and since it appears Volvo went to the trouble of directing the feed via the intercooler, then surely there must be some merit in trying to keep the rigid metal sections protected from the engine bay heat too?

I had actually changed my mind about fitting the hose kit after ordering it, and was guna sell it on figuring it would be too awkward to fit and I could see anything to suggest the stock ones were any worse for wear despite 11 years of use. I then took a close look at the hoses and realized the shorest 2” section from the turbo was quite deformed to the extent debris and dirt appear to be coming from it in both directions. So now I figure for the sake of replacing the small section I may as well use the whole kit since also realizing that of course you don’t have to fit it one section at a time (undo the jubilee aloft the turbo and the one beneath the intercooler as well as the restraint bracket, and the whole thing can be replaced with ease)