PDA

View Full Version : Jammed Locking Wheel Nut (Urgent Help Required)

smithsc
Monday 1st June 2009, 11:24
Hi Guys,

I have Mcgard locking wheel nuts on my V70, my front brakes are in desperate need of replacing but i can't get the nut off, I've ordered a new key but the nut is so tight its just bent the key.

I've been a locksmith who use some weird contraption and they couldn't remove it i'm at a loss now as to where to go does anyone have any suggestions

jonno12
Monday 1st June 2009, 11:44
best way is to get an old socket a bit smaller than the nut and hammer it on and do it that way its how i got all mine off or failing that if ya can drill down the middle of it you can get it off that way

richiemat
Monday 1st June 2009, 12:21
Hi Guys,

I have Mcgard locking wheel nuts on my V70, my front brakes are in desperate need of replacing but i can't get the nut off, I've ordered a new key but the nut is so tight its just bent the key.

I've been a locksmith who use some weird contraption and they couldn't remove it i'm at a loss now as to where to go does anyone have any suggestions

have you tried these?

http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_catalogId_10151_storeId_10001_partNumber_6 96823_langId_-1

i bought 2 packs as all four of mine were stuck on took them to the local quik fit and used their airgun to remove them - they worked a treat and didnt mark the wheels and cost £20 for the parts. You cant easily reuse them though as the bolts will probably get stuck in them. I've heard the other route works well too but never tried it. :)

smithsc
Monday 1st June 2009, 12:40
Thanks guys i rang this company http://www.lockingwheelnutremover.co.uk/ luckily there near where i work and they said they will get them off for £10 per wheel, so will give them a go

jonno12
Monday 1st June 2009, 13:30
could be worth asking them how much it is for the kit if ya get the chance mate i would be intrested in one

smithsc
Monday 1st June 2009, 14:16