PDA

View Full Version : Which engine/setup would you use?

EddyP82
Wednesday 6th May 2009, 22:17
Hi Gents,
Bit of a Volvo noob here, but i'm looking for a new engine to use in my kit car, the volvo engine is standing out to me due to the power its possible to get for a relatively low budget.
I'm intending to use a Ford ST gearbox, as I want a manual 6 speed, from what i've managed to find the bell housing looks the same so think it should match up ok.
I'll either be using a megasquirt or Emerald ECU (emerald more likely)
I'm aiming for a minimum of 300 BHP.

What i'd like to know is, which engine would be best to go for, is it worth paying extra for an "R" engine?
Did volvo do a manual 6 speed box? (2WD not AWD)
I've ready using a 19T turbo and S60 R manifold is a good option, would this be the best to go for?
Does anyone do a tubular manifold at a decent price, what sort of gains can be expected over the S60 manifold?
At what point did the engines change to coil packs rather than a dizzy and coil, I could use the dizzy but would rather go down the coil pack route, however Emerald are struggling to do this for a 5 cylinder :(

Sorry for all the questions but any info would be really much appreciated.

Thanks

Baj
Wednesday 6th May 2009, 22:19
As I understand it gears 1 and 6 in the ST box are the same ratios as 1 and 5 in the T5 box so there is little point in spending out on the doubtless more expensive 6-speed.

PaulZX
Wednesday 6th May 2009, 22:21
I wouldn't use the 6 speed box, the only gears different are 3rd and 4th, you wount gain much if anyting....

manifold, you'll be fine with a late ME7, or S60R... Tubular on fleabay for £999 + p&p, won't give you much other than a pain the ass to fit it.... dizzy and HT's are good up to 591bhp so far (see RT mechanics build for MORE details...)

I sound like I know what I'm saying now.... lmao

oh and green injectors are the biggest.....

EddyP82
Wednesday 6th May 2009, 22:28