At the weekend I changed my front pads.
I took the wheel off
Removed the spring
Undid the caliper slider bolts
Lifted out the floating caliper
Compressed the piston back in
Put on new pads
Refitted

Now they feel like they have air in them. Pedal stops about half way down then sinks slowly to the floor (with foot pressure on).
I bled the front but no visible bubbles came out. It still feels the same

I have been changing my brakes for nigh-on 20 years. I am no expert but I do know what I am doing. So the question is; what am I not doing?

jonno12
Thursday 2nd October 2008, 12:27
could be a stubbun airlock i know when i did my renault last year i took ages in the end i took it to the garage around the corner and they used a compressor bleeding tool they had

Baj
Thursday 2nd October 2008, 12:36
Yeah, I spoke to my local and he said by the time they ramp it up and get a monkey on it it will cost me £30
I may have to suck up and stump out :(

jonno12
Thursday 2nd October 2008, 12:43
not good mate i hade to have mine in the garage today on of the calipers was sticking on thats gonna cost me £30 today aswell all because i cant be ars eed top do it myself plus they have to re mot after but at least you will have piece of mind

princepugh
Thursday 2nd October 2008, 13:59
£30 for safe brakes sounds like a bargain to me! :-)

jonno12
Thursday 2nd October 2008, 14:05
i dont like messing with brakes on fast cars

wegal
Thursday 2nd October 2008, 16:24