PDA

View Full Version : Are all Volvo S60's trouble??

mikest5
Wednesday 24th September 2008, 16:44
I am just wondering whether I may have bought a really bad choice in a Volvo? Got the car 3 months ago and its been slightly problematic to say the least....
Its a 2001 S60 T5 Geartronic, top of range with every single extra available, including TV and phone, automatic, 35,000 miles and full service history..Was an absolute pleasure to drive and was bought after just a 1 day test drive..
Then the problems started to appear, and now Im starting to wonder if I should have bought something else?
The first disaster was after having the car for only a week, and took the missus to M&S, only for the car to overheat, empty all its coolant in the carpark, and make me look line an idiot (primarily because i have no mechanical knowledge and stood staring blankly under the bonnet!).
The dealer who sold me the car came and collected it, and had it for a week while a new air conditioning and coolant module controller was replaced..
Then after another 2 weeks, came to use it and it would not start because of a completely flat battery. Managed to jump start it, and could hear a chirping noise, which the dealer decided may be a slightly worn belt.
He replaced the battery with a new one, and asked for the car to go in for a day while they checked and changed any faulty belt..
The car was dropped of in the morning at the garage, and collected after work, and they were ordering a new pulley as it was that what was worn not the belt..
2 days later they call me and ask me to take the car in again as they need the numbers off the alternator to order the pulleys as there are a few different variations...I agreed to drop it off the next morning, only for everything to fall apart on the way there, ending up with the pulley falling off, the belt burning out, and having to get it transported on a low loader..