PDA

View Full Version : Front Discs

t51995
Monday 11th April 2005, 18:02
Hello, this is my first visit to the site and I would like some advice and oppinions. I need some new front discs and pads for my 1995 T5 Estate. I do about 6,000 miles a year, I'm a steady driver, only break hard in emergencies and occasionaly tow a caravan( don't tell Jeremy Clarkson please ). Iv'e looked on the net and made a few phonecalls and am a bit confused with prices and makes. I don't have much cash to spare and found that Euro Car Parts can supply discs made by Guttmann for £19.99 each and pads by the same manufacturer for £11.54, not including VAT. This seems like a good price to me, but I don't want to buy rubbish!. Anyone else had dealings with ECP or this manufacturer?, your comments would be most welcome, thanks. :wiggle:

Andrew
Monday 11th April 2005, 18:07
ECP are a good supplier and as you've stated your looking for cheap and you're not a mad driver therefore I don't think there is any point in you buying performance brakes. I'd say it makes sense and to go for it but just wait a while for some of the experts around here to chip in their pennys worth.

rich850t5
Monday 11th April 2005, 19:10
ECP are a good supplier and as you've stated your looking for cheap and you're not a mad driver therefore I don't think there is any point in you buying performance brakes. I'd say it makes sense and to go for it but just wait a while for some of the experts around here to chip in their pennys worth.Thats strange andrew you use brembo disks and ferodo pads which (i believe)some rate very highly on here,and there not that much more than what has been quoted, i mean you wouldn't put crap tyres on a car this big and quick why compromise on the most important part BEING ABLE TO STOP!put cheap parts where there not so important and spend good money on the very important ones.(i'm not ranting it's just my belief) you just might regret it one day!

siamblue
Monday 11th April 2005, 19:20