PDA

View Full Version : ETM cleaning

T-5ones
Tuesday 3rd October 2006, 23:16
Been to the stealers and had codes read and recall issues sorted. Was recommended to have the throttle body cleaned and software updated for the ETM.:shifty:

I have had a brief check up on the issue and (I think) volvo will pay for the software update after they have cleaned the throttle body, twice, under the extended warranty. But this is for cars under 100K - Arse! Was quoted about £100 for the job.

So to cut a long story short... Anyone taken the etm off and cleaned it themselves? If so, how easy a job is it to get to?

Vikingxl
Wednesday 4th October 2006, 08:08
I know wobbly was taking a look at one a while back if thats any help

dreadly
Wednesday 4th October 2006, 12:43
I cleaned one with a can of carb cleaner spray, but it shagged up!

I'm no mechanic!

Wobbly Dave
Wednesday 4th October 2006, 12:49
cleaning them will not make any difference as it is the potentiometers at either end that go wrong. Cleaning the butterfly valve will not make any difference IMHO

T-5ones
Wednesday 4th October 2006, 13:02
I value your honest opinion Dave. Do you think getting the software update will help the running or is it just a less sensitive warning setting?

As i get fed a big loads of bullpoo from the stealers, I never know when anything is the truth. (Very much my personal opinion. There are very good volvo agents out there. I just wished I lived near one of them!!) IF it were going to help I'd get the work done/do it myself.

Dreadly, I had read about the over agressive solvents problems, so you are not the only one. It is these very reasons that I'm being so causious.

Wobbly Dave
Wednesday 4th October 2006, 15:38
I dont know what is involved in this software update? all I know is what I saw when I dissected a broken one. Possibly the update will make the pots less sensitive but ultimately it is a physical design flaw that is the single point of failure.

dreadly