PDA

View Full Version : Air Con advice for a newbie?

alanshuff
Tuesday 15th August 2006, 13:43
Hi y'all, my first post here and its with a wee problem.

I bought a 1995 green T5 Auto saloon on 01/08/2006 (84k miles, fsh, MOT and Tax till 2007 - all for £1350. Thought I good a good deal I have to admit).

Now the thing is brilliant, almost everything works (heated seats, electrics, leather is in good nick, bodywork and wheels are good etc) but only two things do not work - the Air Con and one of the headlight wipers.

Now I do not need air con, but I would very much like it. But I cannot figure out what the problem might be (bearing in mind I am a novice). Heres the symptoms....

1: NO apparent temperature change
2: NO 'kicking in' noises or dip in power
3: Just NOTHING

With my previous car I felt the cars power dip a tad when the air con was switched on, though I dont know how much I should expect from this car. Therefore I dont know if the whole system is just not going, or if it is just needing regassed etc.

Has anyone had the same (sounding) problems? What was the end result?

fireplums
Tuesday 15th August 2006, 14:07
my old t5's air con didnt work, it just needed a re-gass my mate fixes fridges and did it for free was ice col afterwards.
I'd try that first? I think the hoses are poor quality and / or degrade and leak over the years

alanshuff
Tuesday 15th August 2006, 14:15
Cheers fireplums. Think ill look into getting it fixed soon then if it might just be that. Anyone know where is good to go in the Glasgow area?

Matt30462
Tuesday 15th August 2006, 15:13
There is a multitude of possibilities Alan from evaporator to a simple connector. Run "air conditioning" or "aircon" in the search window and you will get loads of pointers.

Babybadger
Wednesday 16th August 2006, 15:05