PDA

View Full Version : help or advice needed removing front brake calipers

rickbee
Monday 15th May 2006, 20:26
I am a an occasional mechanic with limited expertise and tools. I have had a go at a brake upgrade. replaced rear discs and pads on my V70 R with a lot of cursing and swearing, moved to front of car to replace discs and carriers with gen Volvo 302mm items. First fitted Goodridge hoses, diffcult for me but managed it. I became stuck with the carrier bolts. I cannot shift the top carrier bolt on either side( afaik its 15mm). I have tried impact wrench, and various long levers and socket types, plus ring spanners. Cant shift them, plus I have damaged the head of the top bolt on the offside now. I have exceeded my ability, enthusiasm and brute force on this job. :mad: I dont know what to do now. As I see it I have two problems. One carrier bolt with a partly rounded head and another one at the top on the near side which is just as tight but I have not given that the same treatment for fear of causing more damage.

I thought this job would be straight forward even for someone with my limited skills. Call me a wuss, how can I progress with this job. I have fitted the new pads on the front anyway and bled the system and its all working ok. Anyone got a four foot long extension bar lol?

pzorb
Monday 15th May 2006, 20:33
I empathise with you, had a similar problem doing the same thing a couple months ago. Didn't round the heads but couldn't budge them. If the car drives, I'd take it to a mechanic and just ask for the bolts to be undone/slacked. If they get b*ggered up further it's his problem. Brute strength won out for me, but if the head's showing distress it's best to get it looked at. IMHO.
PS I'd strongly suggest finding yourself some new bolts now ready to put in when you've done the job.

Tomcat
Monday 15th May 2006, 20:38
Where abouts in Cheshire are you?, if you can wait till the weekend I may be able to lend a quick hand

Baj